14 Comments
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

I'm fascinated by how the people who think this was a war crime would have been among those of whom the Junta would have thrown out of a helicopter.

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Is that standard storage protocol for a gun - propped up in the corner behind the sofa?

Expand full comment

Excellent summary, Guy.

I lived near Catterick Garrison, Richmond, at the time.

None of my acquaintances in the forces considered the sinking anything other than anecessary act of war.

The most vociferous opponent of the war itself, was my recently married pal, Mike Lee!

He and his new wife had to cancel their honeymoon when the SS Canberra was requisitioned!

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

I also seem to recall:

Mrs Thatcher got savaged by some member of the public in what should have been an easy question & answer session on the BBC's national current affairs programme Nationwide. Mrs T ran wary of taking questions from the public after that. I believe the matter hinged on something she said, and stood by, which has been shown to be incorrect: that the Belgrano was proceeding towards the task force at the time.

And yet (I"m going to quote here from your post on Apr 18!) Sir John Nott said "... Any ship can turn in an instant."

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Memory is a fickle thing.

I have a clear recollection of seeing The Sun's "Gotcha" front page. I was a paperboy in Essex aged 14 at the time.

But what I also remember is the picture; the fanous one of the sinking ship, listing, with its bow blown off.

So: what I really remember is a conflation of the front page of my late Mum's Daily Mail, and the furore that followed that particular edition of The Sun. [Headline composed by Wendy Henry as I recall.]

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Good piece to camera. My only quibble, and it is for the journo. There is no need to qualify the Royal Navy, in the same way one doesn't quality the RAF or the Royal Mail.

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Thanks for sharing Guy!

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Well said Guy, measured and concise. 👏

Expand full comment
May 2, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Nicely done. Imagine appearing live undoubtedly trumps talking head work!

Expand full comment