21 Comments
founding
May 3, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Wonderful. Fingers crossed there are still some juicy things in there. Question. As a historian, looking at archives, and wanting to follow the evidence, how do you deal with the issue that archivists might have only kept documents supporting the party line / a positive spin? Without having to speculate on what’s missing? Seems a thorny issue…thanks.

Expand full comment
Apr 30, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Heavens above! What a treat this production is going to be. To say I'm envious is the understatement of the decade. For an historian turned theologian (retired, got bored, changed discipline) I would love some insights into what the Catholic hierarchy actually think. You're very fortunate Guy & the doorbell looks like something out of the 60s secret service!

Expand full comment
Apr 30, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

This looks brilliant! A definite must watch, I’ve long been fascinated with with the history of the Vatican and the “secret archives.” I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’ll be shown on a platform I have access too. I saw that you actually got to go outside to do your talking head thing, makes a change from seeing you in a dark room 😊!

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

That looks like it would be worth watching. A couple of years ago, perhaps more, in the space of a week I heard two authors opine on The Pope’s complicity or otherwise. One suggested he turned a blind eye, knew what was going but did little to help. The other was kinder but still critical. The truth probably lies in between, as I’m sure you will reveal.

Expand full comment

Looking forward to, and new revelations....

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Fascinating stuff - I’m not aware of any previous, in-depth investigations, so I very much look forward to watching the finished documentary in due course. Just watching your series on the Nazi Post-War Plan and it’s utterly brilliant.

I have visited Berlin and Munich and found them to be amazing cities, drenched in history - enjoy your trip(s)!

Expand full comment

I think ever since reading the DaVinci code, I’ve been fascinated by the archives and what secrets really are held within. Oh my God Guy. I don’t really do envy, but on this occasion, I’ll allow myself a bit. Looking forward to it muchly! Good job they didn’t have HP printers back then because half the stuff would be missing. 😬

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

That does look interesting I’ll give that a watch when it’s released for sure

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Very cool. And all infallible...

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

I’m torn between wanting to dive straight into those archives myself & being slightly disappointed that the room didn’t look like something out of Hogwarts...

Will keep an eye out for this either way, it’s not something I know that much about.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

I remember your Crowdcast Talk on Hunting Evil and you mentioned some of the "Goodies" you found in the Archivo Segreto Vaticano on that occasion. Think I will need a whole carafe of Negronis for this Documentary.

Enjoy Munich and especially Berlin which is one of my favourite City Breaks and enjoy a glass of Paulaner or 2.

Expand full comment
Apr 28, 2022·edited Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

It would be possible to spend centuries going through that, wonder what secrets are still hidden there? It may come across as overly cynical, but I regard the Vatican as the world's first megacorporation in a way. That such a significant amount of human history is kept in one place, the scale of it must be, ahem, biblical.

It looks like a gripping watch, I sincerely hope I'll be able to catch it

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 28, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

WOW!! archives by the lorry load and wonder how many have never ever been opened! Looking forward to the series.

Expand full comment