36 Comments
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

It's an amazing drink. So many different flavours from very light aperitif to very dark full flavour heavier wines. I miss it a lot. Unfortunately my doctor has forbidden me from drinking alcohol!

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

My wife is a Gaditana, so there’s always a bottle of Manzanilla in the fridge. With a Palo Cortado and a PX for when the mood takes us.

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Absolutely love sherry, especially chilled in summer. Always Pedro X at the Festive Season too...Christmas pudding in a bottle!

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Absolutely. Nothing better than a chilled fino as an aperitif.

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Maybe it’s age but I’ve never had Sherry - what’s it like?

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Funnily enough had a Tio Pepe pre dinner last night

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Haven't had a sherry for half a century so found a new bottle of Marsala (bought for a recipe) which will be substitute. Having a glass each before lunch here with some Hula Hoops. It is rather good! Might get used to this...

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Never tried it, but I’m very partial to an entire bottle of red wine with my lunch, when appropriate…

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

I’ve never actually tried it!! I probably should at some point.

Expand full comment

Absolutely. Fantastic little Tapas bar in Fowey and they have a Sherry list to die for! Also like a nice Bristol cream on Xmas morning. Just to be cheesy amd hold up the family tradition!

Expand full comment
Apr 10, 2022Liked by Guy Walters

Oh yes! Love a pre-lunch Sherry on a Sunday. Preferably chilled and not too sweet for me. And a Sherry glass is a thing of beauty.

Expand full comment